Digital Cinema Package Testing

PLANB
PLANB Website User Posts: 105
Really soon I'm getting a lab to DCP convert my latest short film for film festival and cinema screenings. I have asked a few local cinemas about arranging a screening test for the DCP (since I doubt labs allow people in for QA testing) and they're charging me a minimum of $500 to test screen the short outside of running hours. Is this normal? Sure, it uses up a lot of electricity but something doesn't feel right. I said that I am a student but that didn't make an effect.
Any advice on how to pull this off without such a price tag? Or do I have to deal with it?
Thanks guys.

Comments

• Triem23
    Triem23 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 19,015 Ambassador
    edited March 2014
    Check with the lab. I have never done DCP, but, back in the day, when I took film to labs for timing and processing and telecine, QA was included. (Although the last film-film I produced was color-timed by the guy who timed "Phantom Menace," so our QA was basically telling him how fantastic it looked...)
    It's fairly normal for a theater to charge several hundred in rental. To screen, it's not just a matter of electricity. You have to have a manager, ticket seller, a protectionist, probably an usher, and concessions person, because they are still required to staff. Because they are coming outside of normal hours, the staff are getting overtime pay, probably at a "4-hour call" . Most theaters will allow rentals off-hours, but the assumption is you're renting for a paid event. A manager doesn't have authority to set prices--that's the owner/general manager. Regional manager if it's a chain theater.