Using composite settings

PaulStarrPaulStarr Website User Posts: 16 Just Starting Out

I am new to Hitfilm Express and I am experimenting with moving images is a circular path. I have a couple of questions that aren’t yet clear to me.

1. If you add controls to a composite image, can the exact controls be copied to another image?

2. If you make changes to the controls in a composite image then add image to a video timeline, if you edit/ refine  those controls in the image will they / should they appear in the video?

Comments

• DafterThingsDafterThings Website User Posts: 889 Enthusiast

@PaulStarr

1) You can copy/paste controls from one image to another.  Normal select the control and right-click copy and then select the desitnation and right-click paste

2) If you change a composite then it is reflected in the editor timeline immediately.

• CleverTaglineCleverTagline Moderator Las Vegas, NVModerator, Website User, Ambassador, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 3,061 Ambassador

Just to clarify the terminology, the proper term is “composite shot,” not “composite image.” While a composite shot can be used to create static images, it’s treated as video on HitFilm’s timelines because it has a specific length and frame rate. 

• PaulStarrPaulStarr Website User Posts: 16 Just Starting Out

Thank you for your comments. I will work on the lingo, it is a little alien to me at the moment. @dafterthings... to be clear, I click on control (say position), right click, copy, then click on control shot I want to copy to, then paste? Does that mean I have to copy each key frame one at a time?

• DafterThingsDafterThings Website User Posts: 889 Enthusiast

I'm not in  a position to check at the moment but I remember it copying all the keyframes as well.
    What happens when you try?

• CleverTaglineCleverTagline Moderator Las Vegas, NVModerator, Website User, Ambassador, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 3,061 Ambassador