Playback lag/ export issues

horsefan1111horsefan1111 Website User Posts: 10 Just Starting Out

Hi,

I am rather new to video editing, but I have been having some issues with video playback and exporting. My video camera records videos in MTS. I use handbrake to transcode to an MP4. But when I import it to hitfilm, it lags to the point where I can't do anything with it. I have tried other suggestions like converting it to the Go pro cineform file within hitfilm, but when I export it as an MP4, it is stretched terribly. I have also tried changing the codec to an  MPEG4. This helps a little but it is still laggy. I have heard about using intermediate codecs for editing such as DNxHD, but I cannot find anything about how to convert to these files.  Any help would be appreciated!

Comments

• NormanPCNNormanPCN Website User Posts: 3,945 Enthusiast

The video playback stutter and lag in Hitfilm is due to the fact that your PC is not powerful enough for Hitfilm to perform realtime (smooth) with your source media.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yqhl0mRuTng

If you transcode using Handbrake then you should use fast decode settings for best performance with AVC. Still AVC is not the fastest to decode video codec but it works for many/most. PC dependent of course.

https://fxhome.com/forum/discussion/42415/transcoding-to-fast-decode-avc-for-timeline-edit-performance

Cineform will be your best option for optimal video edit performance.

https://fxhome.com/forum/discussion/42015/how-to-use-virtualdub-filtermod-to-fix-vfr-issues-and-convert-to-cineform

Don't worry about DNxHD. That would require you to install Quicktime and it will not perform as well as Cineform.

"I have tried other suggestions like converting it to the Go pro cineform file within hitfilm, but when I export it as an MP4, it is stretched terribly."

As for this you are going to have to be very detailed and specific about what you are talking about here. I am not going to try to guess.