Imagination VS. Visual Effects

Hey everybody. This is my first time forum post. I got Hitfilm Express during the free promotion, and I have to say, it's pretty amazing.
Anyway, as I've been messing around and making visual effects, I got to thinking that it takes a lot of imagination to make a visual effect. Sure, it's mostly technical skill, but you have to see an effect in your head and then try to make that using the tools at hand, and then match what you've made up with what you see in your head again to see how if it matches up. You have to imagine an effect in great detail, down to how the light interacts with everything else in the scene.
So I'm not saying imagination and visual effects are mutually exclusive. But I saw The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug recently, and the amount of special effects just depressed me. I know I can't do any better, but every single time it occurred to me that something was 3D animated or everybody was standing on a green screen, it dragged me right out of the movie. In the old trilogy, even though the orcs were obviously just people, they felt like they were really there. I had to use my imagination a bit to pretend they were orcs, but the fact that it was just dudes in make up didn't distract me the way the video game characters of The Hobbit distracted me.
2802512-Azogcloseup.jpgKratos_God_of_War_III.jpg

It feels like I'm playing the movie tie-in video game while I'm watching the movie.

So what do you guys think? We're getting close to having the technology where the visual effects artists can do all the imagining for the audience, but maybe I'm just getting old or maybe its the fact that everything's done for me, but movies today just don't capture my imagination like the old days. I think that's why we still have and will probably always have traditional 2D animation and pixellated retro games and weird art styles. We're all kind of sick of reality.
the-lord-of-the-rings-the-two-towers-107