Questions about the software development of Hitfilm

gerryhernandezgerryhernandez Website User Posts: 3

Hey everyone. This is a question far from the norm. I’m a developer working on a hobby project and I’d like to create a cross platform GUI tool, mainly targeting macOS and Windows, Linux being considered “nice to have, but not necessary.”

I really love the way Hitfilm’s GUI looks and feels. If anyone could share any information or hints as to how they’ve accomplished this (libraries, etc), I’d really appreciate it!

Thanks in advance. :)

Comments

• CleverTaglineCleverTagline Moderator Las Vegas, NVModerator, Website User, Ambassador, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 3,029 Ambassador

I believe HitFilm uses the Qt development framework, which is cross-platform. I dabbled a little with it when I was at my last studio job. Maya had just changed its entire UI to be Qt-based, and provided a few hooks to do more elaborate UI work than could be done with Maya's own features. Haven't touched it since, but I definitely liked what I saw.

• gerryhernandezgerryhernandez Website User Posts: 3

I had a feeling it was Qt, albeit heavily customized. Maya looks like Qt pretty much out of the box, but Hitfilm is snazzy and, in my opinion, more efficient with real estate on the screen.

Do any of the developers frequent this forum?

• Triem23Triem23 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 18,226 Ambassador

Most FXHOME staff from devs to marketing to the CEO frequent the forum. (FYI Mods aren't Staff)

How detailed an answer they might give, I dunno. I'll tag the official community punching bag community liason guy for FXHOME  @GavinBarker. I'm sure he'll pass on the question. 

• GavinBarkerGavinBarker Staff Website User Posts: 98
    edited November 2018

*flinches*

Hey @gerryhernandez, thanks for the question!