3D Render looks Cartoon

Hello for starters I am Noob here. I need some help I have this .3ds file and it looks great in the preview on HitFilm but once on the time line it looks like a cartoon. I needs some help here, I am lost thanks.
[attachment=814:IMG_20140209_013757.jpg]
[attachment=813:IMG_20140209_013831.jpg]

Comments

• Nate066
    Nate066 Posts: 190 Just Starting Out*
    Try adding lights and using Ambient occlusion and if there are textures make sure there attached. 
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G9UL4KC5kH4
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nt7v-m6scfw
  • I did try that but it seems like the .3ds file is no good maybe? I ordered this from a seller and I have no clue what to do not to make it look like a cartoon. The Seller is willing to help out but I have no clue what to tell it to make sure it turns out great in the time line. Anyone that like to help Plz let me know thanks.
  • Triem23
    Triem23 Posts: 20,297 Power User
    edited February 2014
    Hitfilm is a little bit odd in it's 3D space. 3D models exist in their own 3D space, and 3D layers exist in another 3D space that are kind of butting together. This means that 3D layers and particles composite by position in 3D space, where 3D models composite in layer order--this is by design.
    Additionally, 2D layers (including grade layers) "flatten" the 3D space below them. This means if you have several 3D layers and a 2D layer and the 2D layer in the layer stack is in the middle of the 3D layers, that the 3D layers above the 2D layer aren't actually in the same 3D space as the 3D layers below the 2D layer. Let's say you have this on your layer stack:
    1) LIGHT
    2) LIGHT
    3) GRADE
    4) MODEL
    5) PARTICLE EFFECT