Cintiq alternatives for 3d animators?

Andersen01498Andersen01498 Website User, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 940 Enthusiast

Hi,  I am a student that is currently going to school for 3d animation?  Does anybody know any budget-friendly alternatives for the Wacom Cintiq( tablet with the computer screen on it)   Main purpose 3d animation....not much of a 2d animator?  Thanks  

Comments

• Triem23Triem23 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 18,302 Ambassador

I have an Xp-Pen 13. Works well for me. When I researched Cintiq alternatives myself, Xp-Pen was constantly on the top 5, top 8 and top 10 lists. They make 10,13,15 and 21 inch models. 

• Andersen01498Andersen01498 Website User, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 940 Enthusiast

@Triem23 would this work well with 3ds max or maya?

• Triem23Triem23 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 18,302 Ambassador

Couldn't tell you. I haven't done serious 3D modeling in decades. For my uses it's great as a "mirror" of my main screen for 2D art/photo editing, and as a second monitor in Vegas or Hitfilm. Cintiq type displays are, of course, touching a pen directly on a screen. I could see that being useful when using sculpting tools or selecting vertices and doing certain types of deformation editing. Otherwise, I just don't have experience using that type of interface device in those programs. 

Hell, I haven't touched 3D Studio MAX since 1999!

Maybe @jsbarrett or @NxVisualstudio would have insight? 

• CleverTaglineCleverTagline Moderator Las Vegas, NVModerator, Website User, Ambassador, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 3,042 Ambassador
    edited November 2018