GPU optimisation advice for new HitFilm/Video editing PC

Steve_N
Steve_N Website User Posts: 12
edited October 2018 in General

Hi HF users,

I'm after some GPU optimisation thoughts and advice for a newly built HF focused editing PC.  Being a music producer I've only ever needed to have machines which are audio optimised for cpu and hard drive efficiency and reliability. But never for raw graphics power. So this is my first foray into computers with descent graphics cards for video editing. 

I suspect I haven't optimised my GPU correctly to get the most power out of it for video editing. I was expecting to see much faster RAM preview renders than what I'm currently getting.
Now I know this is very subjective depending on the complexity of composite shots and type of GPU/CPU intensive effects being used in the project. Although as a comparison, I'm only seeing marginally better performance than when I was using my main audio recording machine with a ridiculously underspec'ed NVIDIA 512MB card installed in it. That PC is an X99 chipset based, intel i7 6700 machine. Awesome for audio, but not for intensive video editing.

I have installed the most solid driver at the time (Sept 2018 version) for the GTX 1060 6GB, while keeping in mind machine reliability also.

If there are any pro users here who have good road tested experience with NVIDIA GTX 1060 based machines (or similar), I'd like to hear your advice on possible tweaks for getting the most out of it with HitFilm.

It's possible that my expectations were a little too high for the 1060, although I really believed I was being realistic with what I could expect performace wise. I know the 1060 is far from the latest and greatest, but it was as far as the budget would stretch at this time.

Thanks in advance.

PC specs:
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 3 MB, intel i7 8700 CPU, 32GB Vengeance LPX RAM
1 x PCIe Samsung system drive, 2 x  EVO Samsung SSD's,  Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU
Windows 10 Pro. HitFilm Pro 9.1.8