Longevity of Gimbals?

Behind_The_Lens
Behind_The_Lens Posts: 161 Just Starting Out*
edited October 2018 in Practical Filmmaking

hi forums!

i am considering getting a gimbal for my videos- I was just wondering- has anyone had any experiences with the longevity of them?

have you had any mechanical issues, where it breaks down? 

Thanks

Comments

• BobDiMarzio
    BobDiMarzio Posts: 624 Just Starting Out

I am only a hobbyist so feature film gear is not something I think about.   I use a hero 5 with a Karma grip and I am very satisfied with what it provides to my content.  there are tons of video on Youtube related to gimbals that can probably answer your questions.

• TxH003
    TxH003 Posts: 38 Just Starting Out*

I own a Glidecam Centurion gimbal and it has served me well.  No mechanical issues to note.  However, it did take some experimentation to properly calibrate the gimbal software to my preference.

• Triem23
    Triem23 Posts: 20,292 Power User
    edited October 2018

Haven't owned my gimbals for long enough to have mechanical issues. The internet will be your friend here. 

What I can give is general advice for choosing a gimbal, noting I now have a Zhiyun Crane 2 and Zhiyun Smooth Q. Crane 2 is a gimbal for DSLR/Mirorless bodies, the Smooth Q is for phones and GoPro.

start with what kind of camera you're going to mount, and your lenses. Zhiyun has a Smooth 4 (smartphone) gimbal, but its not rated for the weight of a GoPro and adapter plate, so the Smooth 4 wasn't right for me. I use a Canon 5D Mkiv with the 24-70mm f/2.8. I looked at the Crane Plus, but, again, it didn't have the weight rating of the Crane 2. Ultimately weight limits ended up being a strong deciding factor.