Advice on color?

JacksonGary
JacksonGary Website User Posts: 29 Just Starting Out

So I'm a student who's been making films for a little while now, and I try to be careful and intentional while filming. Still, I haven't been too good with color I feel, and would love some tips that you guys have found. I'm on Hitfilm 4 Pro, but advice from any verson would be useful!

On this film, I worked with a colorist for the first time. He is a commercial and branded content colorist, and this was his first time doing narrative film. I believe he used Resolve but I think msot of these things apply across all platforms: 

This is a recent One-Take film that I made, which obviosuly caused some different issues with color. I did it myself, in Hitfilm. 

These films are technically done, but for next time, I'd still love advise on improving these.

Comments

• Hictor
    Hictor Website User, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 342 Enthusiast
    edited October 2018

(Only looked at the first, so far)

I'm no seasoned colorist. In fact, I would be the last to ever call my an expert (I should also note that I'm color blind!)

But my personal take on what you've provided us is that you need to invest a lot in lightning. Not budget or equipment per say, but knowledge; what lighting does to set the mood and feel of a story if you can imagine a world without any colorists involved in filming.

I sense that you do have a feel for it, but from initial probing, I think you rely too heavily on the ambiance. This is not to go on a tirade and tell you buy this and buy that; lighting can be cheap for those are willing to get inventive.