Hitfilm Express Version 9.0.7813.7206 does not want to import Native 4k video that is in an .MOV

I have been using Hitfilm express for about 5 months and I recently got a new camera that shoots Native 4k, but when I try to import it on my PC Hitfilm says "invalid"

My Hitfilm Express Version is 9.0.7813.7206

The video format is .MOV

The codec is H.265

Comments

• NormanPCNNormanPCN Website User Posts: 3,950 Enthusiast
    edited August 2018

The H.265 video codec is not supported by Hitfilm. You will have to transcode it to a supported format. Cineform is a good option.

Also, you really do not want to try and edit HEVC/H.265 video. It has very high overhead.

The user guide lists the formats supported by Hitfilm. 

https://www.manula.com/manuals/fxhome/hitfilm-pro/9/en/topic/supported-formats

https://fxhome.com/forum/discussion/42349/transcoding-for-better-performance-and-easier-editing

• CleverTaglineCleverTagline Moderator Las Vegas, NVModerator, Website User, Ambassador, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 3,042 Ambassador
    edited August 2018

Edit: DOH! I had a hunch someone would beat me to it.  :)

• Dan1508Dan1508 Website User Posts: 8

Beat you to what... The Native 4k?

@NormanPCN What did you mean by do not want to try and edit HEVC/H.264 video. Can I still import it in H.264 codec?

@Dan1508 "What did you mean by do not want to try and edit HEVC/H.264 video."

"It has very high overhead."

I'll enhance that quote as follows. It has very high decode/decompress overhead. That commonly leads to a poor editing experience with stuttery playback.

I also fixed my typo from HEVC/H.264 to HEVC/H.265. AVC and H.264 are the same thing. One is an ISO spec and the other is ITU. Likewise, HEVC and H.265 are the same thing. ISO and ITU specs respectively.

AVC/H.264 is supported by Hitfilm. Even that may not edit smoothly depending on the exact specs of the media encode and the speed of your PC.