Problem with importing mp4 files and conserving framerate

ChiefZamoraChiefZamora Website User Posts: 2

I am new to hit film and have been using it for creating gaming compilations, however I ran into an issue concerning the frame rate of imported mp4 files. When I import a mp4 file I lose frames.  This does not happen with MOV imports. I tested with two identical clips at 29.97 fps one mp4 and one MOV , the MOV preserves all the frames while the mp4 becomes choppy/lost frames

It feels like this is a codec problem could it be possible that there is something wrong with the H.264 codec? Has anyone else seen this problem? Is there a  way to force the codec to update? Are there other import settings that I'm missing? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• CleverTaglineCleverTagline Moderator Las Vegas, NVModerator, Website User, Ambassador, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 3,042 Ambassador

Re: this choppy feeling, are you talking about real time playback, or are you actually finding missing frames when stepping through one frame at a time?  And regarding the two identical clips you tested, I'm guessing you used a tool to convert from mp4 to mov. Is that correct?

Here my hunch: converting to MOV is actually solving the problem, and the problem (I think) is that the MP4 version is likely encoded with a variable frame rate (VFR).  While HitFilm tries its best to play all frames of all media, VFR-encoded media can sometimes lead to frames being dropped during real-time playback.  My hunch is that the tool you used to convert the MP4 file to MOV also encoded that MOV with a constant frame rate, hence the lack of dropped frames.  So it's not really the file format or codec. It's the frame rate encoding that's (at least part of) the problem.