And straight on 'till morning...

ThatGuyBrian
ThatGuyBrian Posts: 2
edited May 2018 in Show off

Howdy, I'm a little new to using HitFilm and I noticed a lack of fanmade animations inspired by Star Trek's latest TV incarnation, Discovery...So I decided to scramble something together, and I'm kind of proud of it. Let me know what y'all think!

Comments

• tddavis
    tddavis Posts: 5,096 Moderator

@ThatGuyBrian Looks good!  Is that your model?  If so, it is really nicely detailed.  Even if not, you did a fantastic job dialing in the material settings.

• Thank you! The model was made by David Metlesits, by the way.

• GrayMotion
    GrayMotion Posts: 1,598 Enthusiast
  • DafterThings
    DafterThings Posts: 984 Enthusiast

That's looking very good.

One things... when it hyperjumps it seems to skew right a little bit.

I am hoping to do some Star Trek stop motion parodies in the near future myself so have to read up on the CBS 'guidelines'.  I don't think your animation falls foul of any of them though.

• WedgeOz
    WedgeOz Posts: 224 Enthusiast

Nothing like a great looking starship beauty pass. Well done! :)

• Triem23
    Triem23 Posts: 20,070 Ambassador

Very nice shot. Like tddavis saud, you really dialed in your material settings. 

• Stargazer54
    Stargazer54 Posts: 3,433 Ambassador

Very nice!  The art director in me wants to give a little push up and blue glow on the rear nacelles prior to the jump.  But I'm just nitpicking.  Good shot!

• Triem23
    Triem23 Posts: 20,070 Ambassador

@DafterThings I think the "skew" is deliberate. @ThatGuyBrian is doing a Next-Gen style "stretch" on the jump to warp.

Brian I really do think you nailed this shot. That said, let me link an old Hitfilm 2 Ultimate tutorial that will help make this even better.