URGENT: Can I recover a saved over project?

MillerFoxMillerFox Website User Posts: 14

I just clicked save and saved a tiny portion over a 20 minute project, Can I recover it before I revert to an earlier file that is like a day old? Please help.

«1

Comments

  • doveranalystdoveranalyst Website User Posts: 33
    edited September 2016

    My Autosave is set to the lowest 1 min. I save manually also. Which is why, this is so weird that although I had opened the file after the major addition and edits, everything has reverted to an older situation. And, I have a feeling I can get it back. The usual auto recover message had also not come. It just crashed.  It does crash a lot of times but I always get the autorecover and usually I'm good to go. 

    Can anyone please help?? Thanks!!

  • doveranalystdoveranalyst Website User Posts: 33

    Pls help? Where should I look for Autosaved file in HItFilm Express?

  • doveranalystdoveranalyst Website User Posts: 33

    Where is the autorecovery folder? After I enter the program files and HitFilm Express, FXHome folder, where am I supposed to look at, for the autosaved filed?

  • CervierCervier Website User Posts: 156 Just Starting Out
    edited September 2016

    Look in your "autosave" tab, where you set it to 1 mn. Just below is the path to the folder your saves are stored in (if any: my folder is empty...).

  • Triem23Triem23 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 18,225 Ambassador

    Incidentally, saving every minute isn't actually the best oprion. When saving, Hitfilm stops whatever else it's doing to save your project files. You can actually lower performance or cause issues that way. You're better to put auto save around 10 minutes. 

  • AxelWilkinsonAxelWilkinson Staff Administrator, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 5,238 Staff

    You don't need to retrieve the autosaved file. After a Crash, When you re-launch HitFilm it will auto-detect the auto saved file, and toss up a dialog saying so, and asking you if you want to save it. Just select yes, name the file, and you can carry on working from the auto-saved state.

  • kaizen63kaizen63 Website User Posts: 1

    What if there was no such prompt and it reverted back to an older situation like three saves ago?

  • AxelWilkinsonAxelWilkinson Staff Administrator, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 5,238 Staff

    Then there is no auto-saved file to retrieve. This could happen if HitFilm crashed during the auto-save process.

  • doveranalystdoveranalyst Website User Posts: 33
    edited April 2018

    Yes, that's exactly what used to happen to me!

    If I'd get the autosaved file then that's not a problem, at all.

    I was hopeful and worried about the project that I'd worked a lot on but there was no recovered file prompt.

    doveranalyst

  • HiFiHiFi Website User Posts: 7 Just Starting Out

    I had a problem like this too. Hitfilm crashed, was reopened, popped up its dialog asking if I want to recover my autosaved project, but it popped up BEHIND another dialog about QuickTime not being installed (yeah, I don't think I need it; correct me if I'm wrong). I pressed Esc to close the QuickTime-related dialog, and it closed the dialog about recovering the project file instead, because that had stolen the window focus without my knowing it, and had only been open for maybe less than a second.

    This should not happen; I would hope that Hitfilm would react more along the lines of "Wait a sec right there! Are you SURE you want to throw all this work away?! Dude! Shut up! I'm not throwing this work away until you click this 'YES GO AHEAD AND DELETE MY WORK PLEASE' confirmation button right here in this dialog!"

    I wouldn't expect it to be worded literally like that, but hopefully you see my point.

    (Also, yes, I know we should manually save frequently, but autosave is good for those times when it's been a while since we've saved)

  • xingdomxingdom Website User Posts: 1

    Just like HiFi, the same happened to me. I had JUST finished my long video, I was playing back the last part to see it and it crashed. I opened it back up but when the box popped up, I closed that quickly because I was also exiting the other window and boom. There goes my chance to recover two hours worth of work.

    I feel destroyed right now.

  • Stargazer54Stargazer54 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 2,709 Ambassador

    Never rely on autosave in any software package.  Save multiple versions as u proceed with your project.  Whenever you make a fairly major change, then save a new version.  I put numbers at the end of the filename to denote Ver01, Ver02, etc.

    If u have a crash u can always fall back to a previous version.

  • doveranalystdoveranalyst Website User Posts: 33

    Thank you so much. Actually, Hitfilm does always say "Recovered file", after a crash. And Hitfilm Express 2017 crashes ALL THE TIME. But because the file is there, I usually don't worry. Falling back on other versions or switching between multiple files is usually not an option for me as I edit 4k video files on a 16 GB RAM, 8GB VRAM, NVIDIA 980M Laptop. (For my YouTube channel YouTube.com/doveranalyst)

    However, when I have particularly set Auto Save for 10 seconds or 1 seconds, the interim file should be saved SOMEWHERE!

    Only, I do not know how to access it.

  • Triem23Triem23 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 18,225 Ambassador

    @doveranalyst check the "File>Options>Autosave" tab. That will show you the folder Autosaves go to.

    Change your autosave settings. Saving every ten seconds (or second) is a bad idea. Basically you're telling Hitfilm to stop what it's doing and save... All the time. Setting Autosave that frequently is increasing crashes. Put this back to ten minutes. Five if you're being paranoid. 

    Look at it this way... It takes two to five seconds to save a file. If you're autosaving every second you're telling Hitfilm to save again before it's finished saving.... 

  • KraigAKraigA Website User Posts: 1
    edited April 2018

    I've literally just spent 2 hours making a drone edit, and the software crashed when I was making an edit to a clip...

    When I opened up the program, it was cleared completely. I clicked on the autosave tab and it says it autosaves every 10 minutes, and autosave was enabled... However when I click into the filepath that it claims to be auto-saving too, it's blank. I've just lost 2 hours of my life and I now have no confidence to use this product. Autosave was enabled so I don't understand what it's been doing... It should have autosaved 12 times during my editing time...

  • GrayMotionGrayMotion Website User Posts: 1,360 Enthusiast

    Sorry for your woes KraigA- Frustrating for sure. To tell you the truth autosave has never worked for me.(since Pro3) Nothing is ever saved in the autosave folder. Good thing I come from the old school of manually saving after edits. Crtl-S has and always will be my friend.

  • PalaconoPalacono Website User, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 3,442 Enthusiast

    Autosave and the behaviour when you say "no" on restarting after a crash is...less than helpful.

    You almost never mean "Discard" when you say "No", you just mean "Not right now, I need to change that thing that I think crashed it before I save it again". If you do mean discard; then that's what the New option is for.

    Add your complaints/suggestions to the wishlist thread.

  • inScapeDigitalinScapeDigital Website User Posts: 715 Just Starting Out

    If the program is still open, you could Undo as much as you can and then save.

  • MillerFoxMillerFox Website User Posts: 14

    It's still open, if I click CTRL and Z will it undo hat last save? I need it to bring back a lot of stuff.

  • inScapeDigitalinScapeDigital Website User Posts: 715 Just Starting Out

    It won't undo the save, it'll just undo the steps you took.

  • MillerFoxMillerFox Website User Posts: 14

    Didn't work, no idea why.

  • EricTheBossEricTheBoss Website User Posts: 9
    edited May 2019

    Let me tell you what the heck I think about this. I spend 4 hours working on a video with your "great" editing software just to have HitFilm crash before I can show anybody all of the work that I am really proud of. Only and idiot can call this editing software good.

  • EricTheBossEricTheBoss Website User Posts: 9
    edited May 2019

    Even your drafts automatically save correctly but you can get your own editing software to do the same.

  • CleverTaglineCleverTagline Moderator Las Vegas, NVModerator, Website User, Ambassador, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 3,028 Ambassador

    Sorry to hear about your crash, Eric. There are lots of users here (including me) who edit with HitFilm frequently, so I have a hunch there's something with your setup that possibly led to the crash.  With your help, maybe we can dig a little a try to find a solution.

    What are your system specs? OS, RAM, CPU, GPU, and hard drive capacity and free space.

    Also, describe a little about your video project. How complex is it?  If you're importing video footage, are you transcoding it before editing?

  • Triem23Triem23 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 18,225 Ambassador
    edited July 2018

    @EricTheBoss.

    So,this is the first time this has happened to you in  two years, right? Because your forum history goes back to 2016.

    Errors can happen with any software. My WPS writer crashed last night, for example, and its autosave didn't recover the work. Chances are the Hitfilm crash happened (bad luck) during an auto save process itself, which would, you guessed it, corrupt the autosave. 

    Auto save, whether in Hitfilm or any software, is a secondary backup and should never be 100% relied upon. Did you edit for four hours and NEVER SAVE YOUR OWN PROJECT? That was silly. Heck, I have a special button on my mouse mapped to CTRL+S and I tap that every few minutes myself, just in case. Sorry you seem to have lost a project, but, autosave or not, any user is still ultimately responsible for saving files on a regular basis when working. Film school even drilled into me where, when working on a prior saved project, immediately saving as a new name! I'll admit that over the years I've had crashes in Hitfilm, Vegas, Ae, Premiere, Photoshop, Affinity Photo, WPS writer, etc where an autosave corruot8. I've never lost hours of work because *I* manually save regularly as well.

    Here's where I note Moderators aren't FXHOME staff, but user volunteers, then suggest contacting support. Chances are there's nothing else they can do. You can also open the File>Options menu to see where the autosave folder is. I've gotten lucky and actually found backups there before. 

  • CleverTaglineCleverTagline Moderator Las Vegas, NVModerator, Website User, Ambassador, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 3,028 Ambassador

    @EricTheBoss Tagging you because the post above has your username misspelled.

  • Film_EmpireFilm_Empire Website User, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 178

    @EricTheBoss and @Triem23

    The autosave function should not be the main source a backup. As Triem says, you should make it a habit to save every once in a while. It sucks that you have lost a project, but I think as with most users, this accident makes you save manually as well.

  • Stargazer54Stargazer54 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 2,709 Ambassador

    Save early, save often.   That goes for any software package.

  • BrJackBrJack Website User Posts: 1
    edited May 2019
     I spent 4 hours editing a video and the program crashed. theoretically it was for me to have my file saved every 10 minutes and when I open the "auto save" folder it is empty ....
  • doveranalystdoveranalyst Website User Posts: 33

    Now, what if a disaster happens. The last action was selecting all and delete button.

    And it saved it.

    I need just the previous version. Please help. It was a 15 min long detailed edit. It had every second of dialogue in subtitles. Please, please, help. I don't want to edit it all over again ):

    I'm using the latest version of HITFILM EXPRESS right now. 

    It was a prompt "Do you want to save the changes you just made?" And click was YES.

    Unfortunately the "changes" was deleting all footage in editing timeline. 

This discussion has been closed.