Motion Tracking Help

VFXArtistVFXArtist Website User Posts: 5

Hi Hitfilmers!

I am new to Hitfilm Express and really enjoying learning all the amazing features it offers, it's just incredible!

I want to see if I am able to replicate this effect. I want to be able to motion track an object while applying an image and text on to the object which will not only follow the object but also spin/rotate in the same direction of the object. Is this possible, if so what is the best way to accomplish this?

Here is an example. If you look at when the bottom of the snowboard becomes visible you can see the text "Engima" which was added to the snowboard follows the snowboard and spins in the same direction.

https://vimeo.com/257315729

Comments

• CleverTaglineCleverTagline Moderator Las Vegas, NVModerator, Website User, Ambassador, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 3,038 Ambassador

For something that short and motion-heavy, the built-in tracking features of HitFilm probably wouldn't help much.  For me, I'd go about adding that element manually.

Build yourself a comp that has the text/image you want, with dimensions that match the general proportions of your target surface.  Drop that into a comp containing your footage.  Apply the Quad Warp effect to your embedded text/image comp layer, activate keyframes for all four corner points,  and drag the corners to place the content where you want it.  Advance a couple frames and move them to match the new position/orientation of the surface.  Repeat as needed.  If you can get away with doing this every couple of frames, you'll save yourself some time, but there may be spots where moving the points on every frame would look better.  It all depends on your footage and where you're trying to drop your overlaid content.

If your footage isn't as wild, you might be able to use the built-in tracking after all.  In that case, this tutorial might give you some ideas on how to approach it:

• VFXArtistVFXArtist Website User Posts: 5