Windows 10 Creators update causes laggy editing performance

chriluchrilu Website User Posts: 3

Hi guys,

Laptop Specs:

• Windows 10, version 1709 (Creators update)
  • i7 7500U (2.7GHz)
  • GeForce GTX 950M
  • 16 GB memory

I've been using Hitfilm Express for a few months now without any issues—at all. About a month ago Windows 10 Creators update was automatically downloaded and installed to my laptop, and I instantly noticed a constant lag / frames dropping during the Hitfilm editing process. (It was painful.) The issue never cleared itself up, so I rolled back the update and Hitfilm worked smoothly again.

However, Creators update has now reinstalled itself, and once again the laggy performance has returned to Hitfilm. There will eventually come a point when I can't keep rolling back this Windows 10 update, so I need to know how I can get it working smoothly again. (Why is Hitfilm unusable with the latest version of Windows 10?)

Does this issue occur with Hitfilm Pro? Will I need to change editors?

I appreciate any help anyone can offer.

Comments

• NormanPCNNormanPCN Website User Posts: 3,945 Enthusiast

I know this is not help but, the Windows 10 update did not affect Hitfilm performance for me. 

• DavlonDavlon Website User Posts: 282 Just Starting Out

After the latest upgrade, Hitfilm is giving erratic audio behavior:

1. I was editing using mp4 files -- a 25fps screen capture from Screencast-O-matic.   This was going okay until the upgrade.   Now the audio on the  source footage drops out sometimes.  The first 7 comp shots I made worked.  Now in this 8th comp, sometimes the narration track will not play, and sometimes the captured audio on the mp4 source footage will not play.  Even after I transcoded it using @NormanPCN settings in Handbrake (to .m4v files) I'm still having seemingly random loss of audio in either the  source footage audio, the narration track or both.