Export EDL to DaVinci Resolve 14?

brucesearlcombrucesearlcom Website User Posts: 25

Hi All, 
I'm new to HitFilm Pro and I was wondering if there is a way to export an Edit Decision List from HitFilm to DaVinci R14? 

I just edited a music video and would like to duplicate it a little quicker in Resolve so I can get a feel for both edit windows, but on a little shorter learning curve. 

Thanks!

Bruce

Comments

• Triem23Triem23 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 18,275 Ambassador

Hitfilm currently has no provisions for importing or exporting EDL to/from other programs. With its unique structure of Editor Timeline/Composite Shot adding EDL export is probably quite problematic. Since a Composite Shot is procedural media, those are impossible to transfer via EDL. 

• brucesearlcombrucesearlcom Website User Posts: 25

Hi Triem23,

That's too bad :-(

Even a simple written list of file 01, clip 01:12 sec frame 22 frame to 01:18 sec frame 01 would quite a bit of time in gathering the right clips from the right files and getting them into another editor. Then I could ad transitions manually of course... How hard could it be just to spit out a list like that of every clip used in the project? I mean I can write it by hand in a half hour or an hour... so it all info that is readily available on the time line and so HitFilm must know it too...

I don't even need a true EDL... just a clip list would work if it had start/end time of the clip in a file and its project start time... that's it. it would be nice if it had video track 1, 2, 3... to know which clip was on top of others for transitions to be easy to match. 

Why is it that I always want something that seems like it would be child's play from a program and it for some reason is too difficult to do? It must be me!

Thanks!

• CleverTaglineCleverTagline Moderator Las Vegas, NVModerator, Website User, Ambassador, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 3,038 Ambassador