Zoom Effect Changing Letterbox?

Hey everyone! I am sorry if this is a dumb question, I am new to the program and I am trying to figure this out. I want to attempt and make a zoom transition between two shots, but both shots have letterboxes on them. I want the zoom to affect the videos but not the letterboxes as it looks very unnatural, is there a way of doing that easily? Or will I have to manually keyframe the letterbox? Would love some help, thanks! 

Comments

• twhitworth
    twhitworth Posts: 119 Just Starting Out*

How are you adding the letter box? Are you using a mask or have you added the letter box effect to a grade layer maybe.
    Also how are you applying the zoom transition?

If I were trying to do this I would first create my transition, once that looks good, create a grade layer above the two clips and apply the letter box to that grade.

• Hi   I have a similar problem (also a new user).  I put a letterbox on a timeline shot which has been scaled up.  Therefore the letterbox seems to be scaled up to and doesn't match the letterbox size in the previous shot.  all help appreciated please!

• FilmSensei
    FilmSensei Posts: 3,108 Expert

Take a look at these two videos...

• Triem23
    Triem23 Posts: 20,059 Ambassador

@twitworth except one must add transition effects in the Editor and the Editor doesn't have Grade Layers. 

If I come up with anything more elegant, I'll post here, but a brute force solution is to create a Composite Shot with Letterbox on a Grade Layer. This should generate a letterbox on transparency. This can be dropped on a top track on the Editor Timeline (over the tracks with the transition). You could export this letterbox matte as a PNG, and drop that into a top track over the whole edit. In this case you wouldn't worry about letterboxing in any comps at all. 

• twhitworth

Yeah, what you said (two months later lol). I usually create a comp with a grade and letter box and drop the layer over the entire movie.