Exporting video is HUGE

Hello,

This is my first time using Hitfilm. I have a 14 mb video that I needed to trim. I did this successfully using the software. However, when it comes to exporting the video, the file size went from the original 14 to 489 mb. Is there any possible way to make it smaller? I need it to be 100 MB or less. Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• tddavis
    tddavis Posts: 5,179 Expert

@ckeys0009  Sounds like you might be using the Uncompressed AVI preset to export.  These will be huge files!   Have you tried exporting using one of the other formats?  If you are using 2017 Express or Pro, I would recommend the Youtube 1080 preset.  If you are on 4 Express or Pro, I would try the MP4 tab on the export menu.  Hope this helps you out.

• Film_Empire
    Film_Empire Posts: 182 Just Starting Out*

@ckeys0009 and @tddavis

Yup. Definitely sounds like you exported to AVI. For more info on exporting, I'd suggest you checking out this video:

• Triem23
    Triem23 Posts: 20,574 Ambassador

@FilmEmpire does good tutorials and his Export video covers the basics. His should get you up and running. 

If you want to get really detailed information on Import and Export of everything, then I recommend this tutorial. 

Now. In your specific case take the number 800 (this is converting megaBYTES to megaBITS), then divide by the number of seconds your final video is. This will give you the absolute highest number you can use for mbps settings for mp4 export. 

• I am having the same problem. I have a file that starts are 44.4MB and exports with no changes at all in HitFilm to 78MB and is all choppy and jittery. The video is unusable after exporting from Hitfilm. Any ideas?

Original file 

MPEG4 H264 1920x1080

Hitfilm export settings

MP4 H.264

1920x1080

Same aspect ratio as original

Same frame rate as original

Profile HIGH

Level 5.1

Encoding Variable Bitrate, 1 Pass

Target Bitrate 6,188Mbps

Max Bitrate 12.84

• NormanPCN