How to move 2D origin for text layer?

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Hitfilm 4 Express and I'm playing around with trying to do a very basic thing: I want to hard-code some text into a video and have it fade in, and fade out.

My first challenge is trying to learn how to position text. I've figured out that I can drag text around, but the "origin" of the layer is not centered on the text box itself. This means that if I rotate especially, the rotation of the text will not be centered.

How can I move things local to the layer itself, instead of what it's currently doing which seems to be a transformation of the layer itself?

Here is a screenshot of what I'm talking about. Notice how the X,Y origin (intersection of the red & green arrows) is not centered on the text.

https://i.imgur.com/jrLhSl6.png

Comments

• inScapeDigital
    inScapeDigital Posts: 709 Just Starting Out*

Change the Anchor Point in the Controls panel.

• voidpointer
    voidpointer Posts: 40

That's closer but is there no way to automatically have Hitfilm calculate the center based on the text box dimensions? What about a grid I can snap to? I'm looking for things to be algorithmically aligned if possible. Thanks for the tips so far...

• Triem23
    Triem23 Posts: 20,679 Ambassador

Use the Create Text Layer button/keyboard shortcut and enter pixel dimensions manually, and the text box will be created in the center of the screen. Click/dragging a text box out always defines an "off-center" layer. 

There is a Grid effect. I use it often to create guilde layers for alignment. 

• voidpointer
    voidpointer Posts: 40

It's hard to determine initial pixel dimensions, especially since it depends on the text. For example, I will visually inspect text in the scene to make sure it looks good (size, color, no wrapping, etc). Once it looks good, *then* I know it's final size, and at that point I'd want it centered on origin for that layer.