How to? - Screen with running code

colamanBS
colamanBS Posts: 92 Just Starting Out*
edited April 2017 in Post-production techniques

Hello.
I am new at Hitfilm 4 Express and i love it.

I want to add a screen with running code.
The code is running and stops randomly.

Like the screen in the film wargames.
Youtube Wargames Ending

Do you know how to create something like this?

Thank you

Comments

• Andy001z
    Andy001z Posts: 3,149 Ambassador

Hi @colamanBS

great film with a timely message. Anyway to the effect, I think you mean one of the side screens scrolling up code. Should be pretty easy. Make a new comp and add a black plane. Then add a TEXT layer , I would make it the width of your comp, so if that HD that’s 1980 and maybe make the height three times as tall (1080 x 3 = 3240). Now using the text tool add your code text to that new text layer. You will need to add a fair bit. Then position the text layer so the top is at the bottom of the visible comp window you can do this by dragging the GREEN transform pointer that should be in the middle of your text box (make sure that text layer is selected).

Now you need to key frame the movement, so that it scrolls up the screen. (Tip use your mouse wheel in the active view window to reduce the size of your visible window which will allow you to see all of the large text window an see it working. You can also use the window zoom in the bottom right hand corner.