Mocha composite shot back into Hitfilm - BLUE SCREEN

Hi - I've hit a brick wall. And all tutorials that I have found seem to be out of date at exactly this point in my workflow, I am new to Hitfilm (think it is great so far) but I am stuck. When I import the Mocha composite shot back into hitfilm, the result is a Blue image (presumably some plane) and I just get stuck here. When I watch the videos about this they never show a blue screen as the result of importing. I think it has confused me totally re the process. I'm sure it is something simple I am not fully understanding but right now I can't find a solution after several hours looking at it. 

Comments

• Triem23
    Triem23 Posts: 20,188 Power User

The blue plane is a placeholder for one of your surfaces. Just drop your original video under the solve, and mute the plane. 

Or, copy/paste the data back into your original comp. 

• Thank you for fast reply, iIf I understand correctly, this plane is totally irrelevant, so it can be deleted and then I have to drag the original clip on top? 

The confusion is, on all the videos it gives the impression that you are importing the clip back in as well, with the tracking information "attached" in some way to the clip? i.e. you are no longer using the original clip.  It is just "there". I am still not 100% sure how this all works, I was using the inbuilt Hitfilm tracking before, so I would associate any 3D object to tracked source  material that had been tracked. Now I am confused as surely if I drag the original media on top of all that Mocha layers how is that original clip now linked to all that  tracking data? Unfortunately the method seems now not straight forward / unlike everything else in Hitfilm which is... may be it is my brain but suddenly the beautiful smooth work flow of hitfilm is lost..! It seemed much simpler in the older versions from the videos I saw... ?

• Triem23

Well. Mocha isn't FXHOME software. It's interface is, yes, very different.