Several technical questions how Hitfilm uses the Hardware

toastitoasti Website User Posts: 3

Hello Hitfilm community,

I am a beginner in film making and was using Premiere Elements 13, but since a colleague suggested to have a look on Hitfilm Express the plan is to switch over.

My plan is to use it on my old Dell T3400 Workstation which has an AMD Radeon 4650 graphics card, 8 GB RAM and an Intel Core 2 Duo Extreme with 3,2GHz.

Hard disks will be 2 x Western Digital Black 1 TB and one 500 GB normal hard disk.

What I want is to edit my film material out of my GoPro 4 Silver, normally Full HD - not more.

So the first question: Do you mean it make sense to start with that config? Will Hitfilm run with an Intel Core 2 Duo?

Which components are the bottleneck?

I have already planned to upgrade the graphics card if needed and the hard disk. But regarding the hard disk I am wondering how to use it to get the maximum performance. How is Hitfilm using the hard disks? Is it "enough" to have all the material which I will import on a slower hard disk (I think of the clips I have converted into a loseless code to have a good speed in editing which are very very big) or should they be on a SSD? Or is it enough to have the system and Hitfilm on a SSD? Is there a project folder where Hitfilm chaches data?

It would be nice if you can help me out with this.

Many thanks!

Comments

• toastitoasti Website User Posts: 3

Oh, forgot one question:

How is Hitfilm using the graphics card and its GPU? Is it only important to have minimum OpenGL 2.0 support or is also a minimum of RAM important?

I just want to use it with minimal investment - if possible, to edit the film without long waiting times for rendering while I am editing etc. I hate that on Premiere Elements 13. But the mistake was probably here that I have imported the H.264 files which needed a lot of performance.