The Last Jamurai

Keegan
Keegan Website User Posts: 294 Just Starting Out
Hey guys! back with another film!

http://youtu.be/mCCFcEix08s
As usual, I try to focus on the effects I used Hitfilm for as opposed to After Effects, which is my primary effects software at the moment. So here goes!
Trapcode particular is a wonderful plugin, but not without its faults. Hideous render times and sub-par optimization with CS6 have made a lot of things fairly difficult for me on this month's film. Luckily, I have lots of experience with Hitfilm's particle engine and used it many times.
The main effect is, of course, the red particles. However, there were instances when I needed musical notation inside a particle system. Particular supports this, but its super resource-heavy and would have added an insane amount of render and preview time to my film. So, once again, Hitfilm comes to the rescue. It handled those particles like they were nothing. Seeing Hitfilm beat-out RedGiant's monstrosity of a plugin really surprised me.
The moral of the story is this: Hitfilm is more than capable of picking up the slack of After Effects and other popular plugins. By using multiple programs, you can work through shots much faster knowing where each program has its own strengths!!

As always, feedback is greatly appreciated! Your criticisms help me grow as a filmmaker!

Comments

• KirstieT
    KirstieT Staff Administrator, Moderator, Website User Posts: 1,069 Staff
    So very many moustaches being torn off in that sequence! :) I like the simple theme - a music battle isn't something I would have ever thought of doing, but it worked well.