Masking a screen and creating a dashed circle

maumaumaumau Website User Posts: 23
Hi!
I'm totally new to Hitfilm, so I need your help.
I want to do 2 things:
1. Creating a screen like in this video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jzkl0aoLWDU&list=PLC5B9D867CB9BC291&index=32
It's not about the 3D or anything, just the screen with the shining outline and the fact, that the video that is displayed inside the screen is being "cut off" by the outline.
2. Is there an easy way to create dashed circles? (1:25 Min)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SzwLoB5xR8k

Comments

• AxelWilkinsonAxelWilkinson Staff Administrator, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 5,241 Staff
    Hey maumau, welcome to the community!  For the first question, you could create a black plane to create the frame around the edge of the video.  Create a black plane, then add a mask that defines the shape you want for your frame, then invert the mask.  Keep this layer above your footage, and you will have a black frame which defines the edges of your footage.  To create a glowing edge to it, I would make a second plane, white this time, then copy the mask you just drew and paste it onto the white plane.  Undo the invert option on this one, and set the Expansion for the mask to 10.  Duplicate the mask, so that you now have two masks on the White plane.  On the second copy, set the Expansion back to 0, and set the Blend mode to Subtract.  Now, add a Neon Glow effect to the white plane, and you can adjust the appearance of the glowing edge to suit your taste.  You can adjust the Expansion of the first mask to control the thickness of the glowing line.
  • RobinRobin Website User, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 1,671 Enthusiast