Building a PC on a super tight budget

xtraorangextraorange Website User Posts: 6

Hello folks,

I have a degree in CS, but I'm super behind the times on the hardware market, so I could really use your help:

I'm building (re-building?) a PC for HF Express.  As I enter the video field, I'm presently only doing basic editing (trimming, keying, text overlays, etc).  Sadly my existing machine (based on an older AMD APU) can't handle playing a clip in the trimmer, and takes 20 minutes to render a 30 second video clip with keying, so I think I'm going to have to upgrade.

I blew all my budget (and some) on studio gear, so I have to keep this build tight.

What I have already:
- Case I can hijack
- Drives for storage
- A pitifully small SSD (big enough I believe)
- Optical drive
- A questionable power supply
- Win 10

By my reckoning, I need the following:
- CPU
- Motherboard
- Memory
- Graphics card
- Possibly a replacement power supply depending on the demand

So, what would you all suggest for some hardware that I can get smooth playback on a green screen composite shot, and reasonable render times, while still keeping the price as low as possible?

Thank you so much!

Comments

• TriFlixFilmsTriFlixFilms Website User Posts: 925 Just Starting Out

Can you give me a budget? That would help significantly. I can tell you right now though, itll be close to:

- CPU ($200-300)
    - Motherboard($75-125)
    - Memory ($50-100)
    - Graphics card ($200-300)
    - PSU ($50-75)

so around... $600-900 for a modest computer

Here's a under $600 Build - http://pcpartpicker.com/list/DVB4pb

• The Mobo, Ram, PSU are pretty good and will last quite a while (2-4 Years).
    • I would upgrade the 6600k CPU to a 6700k for an extra $100 when you get the money.
    • The GPU is pretty modest and I'd suggest upgrading that or your SSD within a year or so.

• xtraorangextraorange Website User Posts: 6