Opening door to a new scene

Hey guys I'm kinda new at this but I am looking for some concrete steps on how make a video of opening a door show different contents behind the door. Like a transition into a new scenery.

Any tips? 

Comments

• Stargazer54Stargazer54 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 2,722 Ambassador

Plenty of options for doing this.  The simplest that comes to mind is just shoot an actual door opening, with a lit green screen on the other side.  Then key in your footage inside the green screen.   Do a couple of versions with the camera static (no zoom) and another version zooming into the green to fill the frame as the door is opening.  Just depends on the effect you are going for.

Another possibility would be to grab a picture of a door.  Import that.  Crop the image to match the edges of the door and then move the pivot point to where the hinges would be.  Then the door image will swing correctly.  From there you may have to build up some masks to represent wall elements around the CG door.   In this case you wouldn't need the green screen.  Just put your footage under (behind) the whole effect.

A third option is to create a 3D sequence in Blender, Lightwave, etc.  In that case you will want to write out an image sequence with alpha channel leaving black behind the door.   As long as the only elements in the scene are the door and walls, then the alpha will cut a hole for your composite because you place nothing behind the door.

Maybe that will get you started.  If you have an example to show of what you are trying to achieve that would help, too.

• SegendaryClipsSegendaryClips Website User Posts: 20

Alright I'm trying to merge these scenes. Note that I haven't decided which of the last two scenes I want to hide behind the door. Also note this is the very raw footage, I'm well aware of all the effects I will need to make it prettier.