Audio out of sync - please help

ElementalangelBRHElementalangelBRH Website User Posts: 6

I'm using an iPhone 6 to record videos and Hitfilm 4 Express as my editor for my YouTube channel. I've imported and used four or five videos with no issues. The editing was perfect and the final products were beautiful. Last night and today I've encountered the audio becoming out of sync in the trimmer after a couple of minutes. It appears to get worse and worse as the video plays. It plays just fine with a video player outside of HitFilm. 

I am quite new to video editing and am unsure what I need to do to remedy this issue. And unfortunately, I have a deadline to meet today for my business with regards to these videos. 

Thank you so much for your assistance!

Comments

• Triem23Triem23 Moderator Moderator, Website User, Ambassador, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 18,275 Ambassador

iPhones shoot in a Variable Frame rate codec which Hitfilm doesn't like. You'll need to convert your footage to a Hitfilm friendly format. 

This thread has two tutorials. First is procedure, second has optimized settings. 

Set Handbrake to output identically named files to a new folder. 

Rename the folder of original footage. Open Hitfilm and open your project. Hitfilm will report missing media. Assign the first clip to the new transcoded version and Hitfilm should find the rest. You can re-render your timeline. 

• ElementalangelBRHElementalangelBRH Website User Posts: 6

Thank you! There was no link to the threads. I will see if I can  locate them and give this a try. 

edited August 2016

The thread I found was about audio issues similar to my own. In it you recommended a video which suggests to use Handbrake to convert the fps to constant from variable.