HitFilm 4 Pro vs AE?

pharcydedpharcyded Website User Posts: 27

Hi all! I've been looking at getting into movies/VFX for quite some time now. I'm finally ready to make the plunge, but after researching I'm basically looking at either HFP4 or Adobe AE (I have a CC yearly membership currently).

I'm a complete amateur so I'll have to learn a lot either way which I'm totally cool with. My main goals are just to create short (rarely over 5 minutes or so) comedy skits with realistic VFX here and there as needed. That can of course change and grow into longer/larger projects as time progresses, but you get the idea.

1. Will my needs outgrow HF? 
  2. What areas are they stronger/weaker than each other?
  3. Does HFP4 support plugins?
  4. For structured training, would HitFilm 3 Pro Essential Training (lynda.com) work well for HFP4?

I'm looking for unbiased opinions, but I figured nobody would know HF4P better than ya'll! Any help is appreciated :)

Comments

• TriFlixFilmsTriFlixFilms Website User Posts: 925 Just Starting Out

3. HF doesn't support 3rd party plugins

4. Lynda.com offers some great tutorials for HF, however the HF youtube page makes tutorials pretty regularly

• pharcydedpharcyded Website User Posts: 27

Thanks for the reply TriFlix. The tutorials on YouTube look great, but it seems to lack a lot of structure. I guess I kind of like a curriculum  to follow to get me through all the basics so I understand the what, when, how, and why.

I guess that's been one of the things that worries me about HF...the learning resources. AE has been in the game for a long time, and it has TONS of resources. HitFilm has been around for quite some time as well, but the resources just aren't there. The lynda.com tutorial I mentioned in the OP is literally the only professional tutorial I could find outside of YouTube. The software looks amazing, but it will only do what I know how to do.