Black Magic Pocket Cinema Camera

Hey, its Dawson Boyle here and just wanted to talk a little about Black Magic Designs NEW camera. The reason i really like the Black Magic Pocket Cinema Camera, is because it has 13 stops of dynamic range, 1980pX1080p (which is basically 2k), It shoots raw footage so i can get a beautiful color correction. also shoots good lo-light. My heart is set on the BlackMagic but i wanted to see some opinions from some other filmmakers. What do you think?
Test Footage: http://vimeo.com/70676876

Comments

• MichaelJamesMichaelJames Website User Posts: 2,038 Enthusiast
    Not really excited about it because there are becoming more options that fill that small gap.  Its nice that for a grand you can get raw on sd cards.  Just now Magic Lantern has started cracking how to get RAW from a normal EOS line.  They can safely get raw out of their cameras that get 12-13 stops of dynamic range... and the limitations are shrinking.  If I was a professional would I use hacked software?  No at that point I'd also pay more to get more... like the production camera.  Also, its a super 16 sensor vs a full frame sensor and the accompanying glass.
    Your post sounds a little like an ad
  • MatthiasClaflinMatthiasClaflin Website User Posts: 674 Just Starting Out
    This is how I feel; for just under $1000, there is no better "off the shelf" deals. I find it hard to find anything in that price range that can shoot not only at 13 stops of dynmaic range but also 4:2:2 color space. Idk what DSLRs shoot at but I know that the cheapest camcorder with 4:2:2 is something like the Canon XA10 which is $500 more (and it only shoots 4:2:0). So that being said the BMPCC is breaking ground, even with the things Magic Lantern is coming out with.