Hi All

Hi Community,

I am new to Hitfilm and here is my first Wip in Hitfilm4 Express.

CC is almost welcome :D

<iframe src="https://player.vimeo.com/video/171195978" width="640" height="360" frameborder="0" webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen></iframe>
<p><a href="">First Hitfilm 4 express test</a> from <a href="https://vimeo.com/user658515">Olaf Koll</a> on <a href="https://vimeo.com">Vimeo</a>.</p>

Comments

• Yeremyah
    Yeremyah Posts: 995 Enthusiast
  • Andy001z
    Andy001z Posts: 3,152 Ambassador

You are most welcome and very impressive kick off you have there. Is that the Andrew Kramer pack I spot there?

• Palacono
    Palacono Posts: 3,423 Enthusiast
    edited June 2016

Very nicely done, :) although you might want to put a feathered mask around the bottom of that explosion when you blow the hole in the wall.

The sharp cutoff of the bottom of the frame of the footage is quite visible at about the 9 second mark. Rounding it off to be almost a circular bottom would probably blend it in better.

Also the masking around BB8 looks a tiny bit lumpy. perhaps adding some feathering to the edge of that would help it blend it a little more smoothly.

• TriFlixFilms
    TriFlixFilms Posts: 924 Just Starting Out*

If been made over 50 videos now and still have used a 3D model in one. I am beyond in pressed to see how well you animated that BB8! Great work man!

• inScapeDigital
    inScapeDigital Posts: 709 Just Starting Out*

@TriFlixFilms As HitFilm 4 Express cannot import 3D models, it seems the BB-8 was stock footage.

@Olafk Welcome to the community! Pretty well done for a first time HitFilmer, do you have experience with other VFX software?

As @Palacono said, you can adjust the edge of the BB-8 layer with the Matte Cleaner effect, but I'm not sure if that is in the base version of Express.

• TriFlixFilms

@inScapeDigital Well... what a creative and effective way of using it stock footage! Great work none the less.

• Olafk