Importing .png files leave black background?

chadrnator
chadrnator Website User Posts: 10

A complete Noob here guys, but was wondering how to import a .png file into hitfilm 4 pro to keep the file background transparent. I have googled everything and cannot find why the file is coming in with a black background. The closest thing I found was right clicking on the file in the media pool and changing the Alpha box, however there is no alpha box, only an aspect ratio box. I have tried all the alpha effects under effects but none of those work properly either. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Comments

• chadrnator

I have used the luminance key to remove the black, but the image that I am using is white text with black outline, so by using this key it removes the black, but also removes the black outlines as well, frustrating.

• AxelWilkinson
    AxelWilkinson Staff Administrator, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 5,249 Staff

Can you give us a link to the PNG file in question? In general, there isn't any special process required for this; you just import the PNG and the alpha is applied automatically.

• chadrnator
    edited June 2016

these are files on my pc is it possible to send one here?

• chadrnator
    edited June 2016

I will upload one to my google drive, then attach a link here.

• chadrnator

there are a couple of the files.....

• chadrnator
    edited June 2016
  • Aladdin4d
    Aladdin4d Moderator Website User, Imerge Beta Tester Posts: 2,481 Enthusiast
    edited May 2016

@chadrnator Try the ones marked as Transparent in this folder:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/dk1ovurx7uydnro/AAB3fedCrv2QTww2tv-Uog9Oa?dl=0

The other two in that folder are your original files. My experience with your original files was mixed. Some things recognized the transparency. some things didn't and one program made everything black transparent.