I get an Installation error?

Hi, I'm new to this company/software in general (HitFilm Express 4) and I was was going to use it as a substitute for VDSC Free Video Editor, and while I was installing the software, around 3 quarters in , I get this error (Listed at the bottom) I would really like some help, thanks to anyone! I have a 64 bit Windows Computer, and I'm not very technical, so I don't really know what all of this means XD Thanks in advance!the error

Comments

• Aladdin4d
    Aladdin4d Posts: 2,481 Enthusiast

That's a pretty technical error so sorry for getting well, technical.

The installer is trying to install or update what's known as the Microsoft Visual C Runtime. Trying to keep things simple C is a programming language that gets compiled to an executable form. There are different versions of the language and the compiler so when a program gets compiled it needs a matching runtime to in order to run i.e. a Visual C 9.0 program won't run with a Visual C 6.0 runtime it needs a 9.0 runtime. 

The correct runtime gets distributed with the program's installer and is installed more like a Windows Update package than a regular program. Windows keeps track of EVERYTHING like that in part by using manifests. This error indicates you have a corrupt manifest. Try the steps listed in the link below and see if that fixes the problem

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/957310

• ^ Thanks for the reply! I will try those steps now, don't worry I got what you said :)

• Sorry to bug you again, but now I get the "Windows Resource Protection could not perform the requested operation" error on the command prompt, a bit of help please?

• Aladdin4d
    edited May 2016

Are you running the command prompt as an administrator? If you're not or you don't know for sure try the steps in the link below to open the command prompt and try again.

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc947813(v=ws.10).aspx?f=255&MSPPError=-2147217396