Preview and Transcoding

Okay so while I have some video editing experience I am more or less a newb and what I am trying to do is very simple. So that being said hopefully there is a simple solution.

I am trying to edit some stream sections of 2-3hrs long into shorter videos for you-tube. So basically 99% of it is jump cuts etc.

I am using OBS to record to MP4 here are the fine details:
Resolution 1920x1080
Datarate 2999kbps
Bitrate 3031kbps
FPS 30fps

Audio:
32kbps
44khz

I am having basically 2 problems. (So far)
The first is that the audio is... from my guess... buffering into Hitfilm 3 which causes it to playback very choppy unless I wait a long time 10min+

The Second Problem:
I have cropped out a section and applied a speed effect to it to make a mini-time-lapse. Currently its sitting in video 1 with the rest of the footage. Is there any way to preview this? It has yet while writing this post to shorten to an appropriate time on the timeline.... Should I move it into a separate track? Or just make the timelapse section alone in another project and import the finished product?

Some general questions:
Would some kind of trans-coding make the editor work better in general? I would think my low data rate stuff is fine but apparently not...

I intend to timelapse a bunch of sections so if I have to do them all as separate projects that would really suck :/

Let me know what you guys think! It could be as simple as changing the audio format to 48k or something the editor like idk you tell me! :D

Comments

• Naveronasis
    Naveronasis Posts: 3
    edited March 2016

PS!

This computer is a 12 core x99 5860x i7 with 32gb of ddr4 and solid state system drive with lots of space running Windows 10pro 64bit.

The video is being loaded off a 2tb standard 7200rpm drive. And the video cards are Evga 970GTX SSC x2 running in SLI.

So I have ram and processing power to spare.... Its water cooled and not even overclocked on a Asus Sabertooth board... for ultra stability.