Questions to camera movement in 3D settings

SYMI3OL
SYMI3OL Posts: 29 Just Starting Out
edited March 2016 in Post-production techniques

Hey guys! 

First off I'm pretty new to editing and animating but really interssted in the subject and naturally eager to learn, so please forgive a newbie for probably asking simple/obvious questions 

I've been watching and trying to reproduce tutorials posted on the hitfilm youtube channel lately in order to become acquaintend with the programm. After working through this video i was wondering how the Intro was made. I had a rough idea of how it might be done. I tried to solve it as 3D Setup where the text would stand still and the 3D camera orbiting it, navigating the movement with keyframes for movement and camera-angle (i think the picture shows what i tried to do). Although my result was at least somewhat close to what i wanted to accomplish some questions popped up while i was at it.

My questions now are: 

1) Is there a way to do this easier? 

2) Is there a way to make the camera constantly focus a certain point? So its angle towards a point adjusts itself correctly when the camera is moving say along a line? 

3) Is there a way, to define specific geometric figures like curves or circles (much like the points you can create as new layer) and "snap" keyframes for positions onto these? For example in my case a "circle" would have been super helpful for easily creating a constant, clean orbiting motion.

I'm thankfull for any help i can get 

Comments

• SteveKarstensen
    SteveKarstensen Posts: 335 Just Starting Out*

1) Is there a way to do this easier? 

Yup.  Several.   You're rotating the camera around the object, when it would be easier to rotate the object around its own center.

One way to do that is to keyframe the text's Rotation property.