Error when I upload footage from my GoPro camera.

emulqueen560emulqueen560 Website User Posts: 2

I'm new to this editing software and I use a lot of footage from my GoPro camera. When I drag clips or upload clips it says File Error and The media file cannot be used. Do I need to change the format of the clips or does it just not accept GoPro (.avi) footage? I am using windows.  

Comments

• NormanPCNNormanPCN Website User Posts: 3,945 Enthusiast

When you say GoPro (.avi) is sounds like you are trying to import GoPro camera mp4 footage that has been converted to Cineform AVI in GoPro studio. Am I correct?

Are you using Hitfilm Express? Express might not be able to read this type of AVI file without the premium formats pack. I cannot test that specifically since I do not have Express installed. I can say that Pro has no issues with Cineform AVI at all.

If you have Quicktime installed you should be able to have GoPro studio generate a Cineform MOV file and this should work in Express.

• emulqueen560emulqueen560 Website User Posts: 2

Yes i'm using Express. Is there a cheaper pack I can buy which would support the AVI format rather than buying the full Pro package?

edited February 2016

As previously stated, probably the Premium formats pack $10 US, but I cannot test that directly.

Or the Quicktime option I mentioned.

Are using the GoPro studio software to convert your camera files?

• Aladdin4dAladdin4d Moderator Website User, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 2,509 Enthusiast

@NormanPCN Early SD GoPro's used a Motion Jpeg codec in an AVI which can be a real pain to deal with. I don't know if GoPro Studio still has support for those early cameras or not but somebody else is having a similar problem in this thread.

http://hitfilm.com/forum/discussion/39603/the-video-frame-cannot-be-loaded#latest

@Aladdin4d I saw that in the other thread. I only go back as far as the Hero HD and that was a friends. I started with the 3 Black.