Brushes with fame

duffman
duffman Posts: 235 Enthusiast
Anyone ever have a brush with fame, such as being in a major motion picture, have a song on the radio, know somebody that knows somebody that might have?
For 20 years I worked designing custom electronic controls for prosthetic devices at a well known Chicago Rehabilitation Institute. While there I made the arm for the Fugitive. Yes I met Harrison Ford, worked with Andreas Katsulas for his fitting. Was and extra in a hospital scene. I even made a custom graphic that was used in the film. When Harrison opens the Encyclodedia of Prosthetics it is my graphic he is looking at.
Not long after that the place from which I earned my first degree contacted me. They made a TV commercial about me which was shown nation wide here in the states.....Really freaky seenin yourself on TV the first time.
Because the place I worked was a well known institute and what I was doing at the time was considered "high tech cutting edge" I got to meet a ton of famous or fairly famous people. Eric Clapton, George Peppard, Micheal Jordan, and Mr T to name a few.
Care to share your brush with fame?
Duff

Comments

• Pzue
    Pzue Posts: 40
    I was on Bamzooki once... :P
  • Froi
    Froi Posts: 966
    edited July 2012
    I LOVED BAMZOOKI! It was awesome!I wanted to go on there, but i never really got a grip of how to build the things haha.
    @duffman , IS there the advert on youtube i'd love to see it :D also that must been pretty awesome meeting those people and making movie props, etc. ;)
    I myself have not really had any "brushes with fame", but i have helped BTS in a feature film, possibly going into UK cinemas. But i can't say anything more about that :( . But i am planning to go a couple of film studios in the summer for work experience, so maybe i will see some people on my journeys, lol.