Canon lens under £100

Froi
Froi Website User Posts: 966
Hey I went on jessops, and looked at some canon lenses under the £100 price mark, I only found this... http://www.jessops.com/online.store/products/12878/show.html and I would like to know what y'all think about this lens, and if there are any good lenses for filming under £100 that you'd recommend (I am not a pro with lenses, all I know is that different lenses do different things, the lens I have at the moment is the kit one (18-55 wide) and I would like more variety of lenses for different shots, and i'd like to have more knowledge about what types of lenses do what type of shot.)
So if y'all could hel, that'd be awesome, thanks everyone! :D
-Froi

Comments

• AxelWilkinson
    AxelWilkinson Staff Administrator, Imerge Beta Tester, HitFilm Beta Tester Posts: 5,247 Staff
    That's the only Canon lens that exists for under £100, at least new, and for the money, its a great deal.
    In general, prime lenses (lenses which do not zoom) are preferred for film/video work, because they give a sharper image, they usually allow larger apertures, for shallower DOF, and the focal length isn't ever going to accidentally shift mid-shot while you try to pull focus or something.
    Wide angle lenses (like the 18 end of your kit lens) obviously show more of the scene, and can be good for establishing shots or for shooting in tight interior locations. However, especially with the cheaper models, you are apt to get barrel distortion from them, where vertical lines near any edge of the frame become curved. The more expensive options will have rectilinear conversion, to keep lines straight. With extremem wide angles, you can get a fisheye lens, which is mostly useful only for special situations where you need that effect.