Exporting edited green screen material with alpha?

Hi there. I am new to hitfilm and was running into a problem lately.
Now I have filmed and edited some green screen material in hitfilm and now I want to export this footage as mp4 to import it into Sony Vegas for further works on a music video (Hitfilm isn't too handy in this regard).
I can export the composite shot but when I export it all the alpha information seem to be gone.
I want to just export the character without the background so I can add other backgrounds in Sony Vegas but it seems I can only export the composite shot with the black background color.
Can anybody help me out on this one?
Would be great
Greets

Comments

• budwzrbudwzr Website User Posts: 655
    Export it as a PNG image sequence.
  • LeibregimeLeibregime Website User Posts: 3
    edited March 2012
    I tried exporting as PNG. Still it is rendering the background along with it.
    When I insert the composite shot in the editor I can use it as I want to so the background is rendered during the export process.
    Something I have to pay attention to I may have overseen?
    As I said...I am fairly new to hitfilm.
    I can export as JPEG too but JPEG does not support alpha information.
    EDIT:
    I've overseen to check if I use RGBA. Man, I feel stupid now. lol
    Thanks a lot budwzr!
  • TGamelTGamel Website User Posts: 81
    edited April 2012

Hi there. I am new to hitfilm and was running into a problem lately.
    Now I have filmed and edited some green screen material in hitfilm and now I want to export this footage as mp4 to import it into Sony Vegas for further works on a music video (Hitfilm isn't too handy in this regard).
    I can export the composite shot but when I export it all the alpha information seem to be gone.
    I want to just export the character without the background so I can add other backgrounds in Sony Vegas but it seems I can only export the composite shot with the black background color.